First Things First

It took five days to diagnose me with Lupus.  I went two hours away to another hospital, on the advice of a Doctor that resides in my town and work at a private hospital.  When he called me back to give me his advice, he asked how I felt about going to Charlottesville, Va. and I thought, well, if he didn’t trust any other Doctors locally, then I don’t have a problem going two hours away.  At that time, I had gone into gangrene on my two pointer fingers and the first and fourth digit on my left foot.  That doctor found me a doctor and had me an appointment on Monday.  But he said if I couldn’t stand the pain, that I should go ahead and check into the emergency room up there.  Boy, you should of seen those nurses and doctors moving quickly when I checked into the ER the next day (Saturday).  When I got out of the shower that morning, I was in tears and lots of burning pain.  He said that I should go ahead and check into the ER so they could give me some help.  So we gather the kids, took our time, packed my bags and drove up there and eat out when we arrived and checked in.

It took them five days to diagnose me.  The final straw was the biopsy from the rash.  I had several teams of doctors, one for the brain, lungs and organs, Rhuematology and I don’t remember the other names but it was five different ones. 

Here is a list of test that Rheumatologist run:

  • RA Test
  • SED Rate or ESR (Erythrocyte Sedimentation Rate
  • C-Reative Protein (CRP)
  • Rheumatoid Factor (RF)
  • Anti-CCP
  • CBC

I am sure there other things that they look at, but that is the beginning and I will talk about them as we go.  If I remember correctly, there is a list of 14 symptoms and I had 11 of them.  So Thank the Lord that they caught mine ahead of time.  They caught it before it had started to affect my internal organs.  My nurses started a research file copies for me, not only for me to learn about my diease, but so my family and friends could understand too.  Too little knowledge is known about Lupus and I hope that with my blog and experience, we can get the word out more.

 

Till next time……

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Top Gear Track Days
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 00:36:00

    I really like the way you have written this. Very educational.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

